The Rabid Conservative

Think Right, Act Right, Be Right.

TRC – No Kool-Aid For Me, Thanks.

leave a comment »


A number of people over the last couple days have adm0nished me because of my apparent lack of sensitivity about the inauguration. I’ve been called ignorant, bigoted, and harsh.

But I won’t back down from my position. I won’t drink the kool-aid and sniff the faerie dust.  I’m a conservative and I refuse to give up my positions because people find them offensive.  I refuse to apologize for my beliefs.  I believe that the individual has the power over his own destiny with hard work and God’s blessing, not because some liberal speech-writer, by proxy through Obama, tells us that we’re entitled to happiness.

With God’s permission, I make my own way in the world, and that offends people who would rather that I validate their need for entitlement by laying down, sticking a funnel in my gullet and letting some government bureaucrat pour the kool-aid in.  I don’t need the government in my business, my life, my health-care decisions, or telling me what is right and wrong.  In fact, it’s government that needs to be told how to do it’s business and what is right and wrong.

So, if I offend you with my words, I offer no apology to you, for it’s not me at which you’re anger is directed, but rather, my positions.  And if you hate me for my positions, well, don’t even consider us equals in the marketplace of ideas, because I still can still love you and do so because God has shown me the way.   You, however, in your intolerance, cannot.

Now, onto my rant:

Yesterday, I got a number of incendiary comments regarding my so-called “lack of sensitivity” regarding the inauguration.  I was told things like:

“this is an important moment for some”
“why do you have to rain on their parade. Let them have their day”
“you’re so heartless, this is an important step for humanity!”

Ugh…all the kool-aid is going to make me sick.

I take issue with all the pomp surrounding this event because people are so enamored with the man, as if he is anything more special than any of his collegues and peers in government.

“oh, Rick! But he represents CHANGE!!”

“Just what does he plan on changing and how will he change it? He has yet to articulate those what those changes are and what they mean to us.”

“That’s not what I meant.  I mean all the world is happy and smiling again, it’s wonderful!”

Why is it so wonderful?  What the heck is so wonderful about Barack Obama?  Yes, the people elected him and yes, he is the president.  But why are these people so gushy gushy over him?  I still remember the pictures of women crying profusely during his acceptance speech back in November, crying like they had just been given $20 million dollars, tax-free.

Is it because he’s not George Bush?  Well, we knew that.  Is it because he’s a liberal?  Well, we knew that too, even though we don’t really see the ramifications because the mainstream media treats Obama with kid gloves.

Hopefully, it’s not because he’s a man of color, because that would really just torque me off.  While I’m a firm believer in civil rights for all citizens, if a man of color was what they wanted in office, rather than someone whose policy decisions would be good for the country, that tells me that America didn’t listen to Dr. King’s statements about judging people by the content of their character and not the color of their skin.

Maybe it’s because of entitlement – that the people who elected him will have a president who will, in their perception, give them their hearts desire. I heard one woman remark on the radio, “I won’t have to worry about paying my rent anymore!” *gush gush* These people cannot be seriously thinking that electing Obama will absolve them of the responsibilities and hardships of life.

What ever the reason, well, I’m not buying it.  I’m not going to go all gushy gushy over Obama because I will judge him by the content of his character and by the things he will do while in office. If he refuses to protect the unborn, if he fails to protect the sanctity of traditional marriage, if he decides to crank up my taxes to pay for all the entitlement spending and bailout programs, he won’t earn anything but my harsh criticism.

And, God forbid, if we get attacked by some terror group because he felt the need to pull our troops back, thus taking the pressure off of Al Qaida and the Taliban, you can believe I’m going to scream at the top of my lungs, calling everyone who voted for him a blooming idiot.

However, if he starts reducing government interference in people’s lives, keeps taxes for EVERYONE, rich and poor, nice and low, protects the traditional family vehemently, repairs the business of America by letting the market sort itself out, and brings Osama Bin Laden’s head in on a silver charger, well, he’ll earn my respect.

“Well, Rick, you may not like the guy, but you have to respect him now – he’s our President”.

Oh really, if I’m supposed to be so respectful to our new President, then how about letting the the mobs of disrespectful protesters in Washington that were singing, “nyah nyah nyah nyah, hey hey, good bye” to President Bush during the inauguration ceremony show me how to do it?

I think not.  My respect for Obama is tied to what he does while in the Oval Office, not because I’ve got so much faerie dust in my eyes that it makes me cry.  I’ll still pray for him, though.

*sips tea*

Written by The Rabid Conservative

January 21, 2009 at 11:58 am

Leave a Reply

