The Rabid Conservative

Think Right, Act Right, Be Right.

In Short – Stem-Cell Research and an Idea for Obama

with 15 comments


I commented recently about the stem-cell debate and got to thinking about something last night that actually would help everyone involved (something that we’re supposed to do in politics, rather than widening the chasm).

What if Obama stepped in and supported both Adult Stem Cell research with the same emphasis as Embryonic Stem Cell research, saying something like this:

I believe our answers to problems like Parkinson’s, lie in stem cell research and I’m backing both, adult and embryonic with equal emphasis.  If either one emerges with the answer to the problem, which is more important, that it is embryonic/adult that the cure came from or that the disease was cured and we have improved the lives of hundreds of thousands of people?

You see, here’s the thing:  If Obama made such a statement, he could hold on to his convictions about embryonic stem cell research, embrace adult stem cell research with the same strength, and then claim victory when the cure to Parkinson’s emerges.   That would be huge!

Here’s hope and change right before our very eyes, yet, liberals continue to ignore it.  But look at the shock of Oprah Winfrey and the intent of Michael J. Fox in this video clip:

 

What is so important about embryonic stem cell research that makes it want liberals to avoid the promising amount of research in adult stem-cell research to keep ESCR alive?

  Promising Research Available Number of Diseases Treated Political Barriers Lives destroyed
Embryonic None None Ethically questionable; No pragmatic benefits demonstrated Countless
Adult Tons More than 70 different conditions None None
Written by The Rabid Conservative

April 7, 2009 at 10:00 am

15 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Most of the adult stem cell “successess” are FALSE. I am especially knowledgeable about the ones for Parkinson’s disease, which I have had for 13 years. Since my conversion from Republican to Democrat in 2001, I have learned that right-wingers that rule the GOP today lie about all the things that affect me personally.

    Rayilyn Brown

    April 7, 2009 at 10:09 pm

  2. Rayilyn – Okay, you say they are false. Let’s start with the report that came out of UCLA and published in the Bentham Open Stem Cell Journal. In the trial, Dr. Michel Levesque indicates the patient receiving Adult Cells, over the course of five years, saw an 80% improvement in motor activity.

    So, cite me a *reputable* reference of how Adult Cells have failed and are false claims. A real reference, now, not some rhetorical political liberal statement, but real research.

    I went Googling for Adult Cell failures and am hard pressed to find a reference. So, since you seem to have the 411 on Adult Cell failures, help my readers by showing me some proof of your claim.

    Rick

    April 8, 2009 at 11:06 am

  3. Rick, I cite Dennis Turner, Dr. Levesque’s patient, who I called on 3-24-06 and 2-18-09. His Parkinson’s had returned by 3-24-06 and he is in worse shape now. I suffer from Parkinson’s and do not consider Turner’s “reprieve” a success. Also, he was on PD meds at the time of treatment and had a DBS brain surgery with the original procedure (read the Open Cell document carefully)and these 2 facts put the whole trial in question. However, IF he did have a reprieve due to ASCs, it shows us that unless the disease process is understood, stem cell replacement of any kind will not provide permanent solutions.
    Thank you, Rick, I have followed the Turner case for 5 years.

    Rayilyn Brown

    April 8, 2009 at 12:26 pm

  4. You may not consider Turner’s reprieve of PD to be a successful implementation of ASC’s but to me, I see it as a very positive step in the right direction, since we don’t have a cure yet. No one is claiming immediate victory here about a cure for PD coming out of ASC’s but to say they are a failure even when Turner’s symptoms improved for five years demonstrates a very different opinion and to me, over-generalizes your argument.

    The whole point of my article here is that there is a fundamental desire from the left-wing to stamp out ASC’s in favor of ESC’s. In fact, just today, Oprah’s website buried the entire Oz piece, continuing to prove my point about the entire matter – the media doesn’t want to hear anything contrary to support for ESCR, despite the fact that many object to it. Those objections are not reported, they’re buried as coming from a bunch of uncaring, uneducated, Bible-thumpers from flyover country (ad hominem, but I digress). The point of my article was to illustrate the bias.

    Did you notice how very agitated that Oprah and Fox were during the piece? I expect Fox to be knowledgeable about PD, but I don’t expect Oprah to be. Yet she was annoyed..why? Because she is biased left and didn’t want to hear contrary discussion regarding the use of ESC’s.

    I do wish you good health, despite your battle with PD. And I do hope a cure for PD is found. But I’m optimistic about the benefits of ASC’s. You may not be, but that’s up to you.

    Rick

    April 8, 2009 at 1:33 pm

  5. Rick, for several years Turner was the Family Research Council’s poster boy among 9 others as “Adult Stem Cell Cures”. Susan Fajit was a spinal cord injury paient on that list and she objected. Now it is “successful treatments” or “promising” treatments and the number is always different depending uppn who is reporting.

    I think the move now is to eliminate ESCR as the current “personhood” (attempts to give a blastocyst 14th amendment rights) movement in the states attest. I do not believe a cell is a person and believe that most who do, do so for religious reasons. ESCR has been restricted for 8 years and I don’t think religion should dictate to science what kind of science can be done.

    As for “success” my 2 DBSs control my bilateral tremors. Sinement is beneficial for awhile for most PD patients. Turner’s “reprieve” does not impress me. I guess I am not grateful for crumbs.

    If I was well I would still advocate for all kinds of stem cell research, but having PD 13 years makes it more than an academic debate.

    Rayilyn Brown

    April 8, 2009 at 2:24 pm

  6. I believe life begins at conception and do so for both scientific and religious reasons. I have yet to hear a liberal come up with a real answer to the question “When does life actually begin”, because in so doing, they have to acknowledge that somewhere along the way, ESC or abortion means the destruction of human life. I have yet to see a fertilized egg become something other than a human being, which tells me it’s human, despite whether that egg has one cell or millions. Liberals seem to be unwilling to definitively draw the line between life and non-life.

    >> I don’t think religion should dictate to science

    I’m not worried about the dictates of man-made religion. I simply believe in life as God created it. That belief transcends religion for the same reasons that personal experience transcends academic argument.

    It would be presumptuous for me to say overtly that “God would disapprove of ESCr”. However, it’s my belief that he would disapprove of any activity that takes human life, even in the interest of science.

    What if the cure to Parkinson’s were found in the brain cells of a 5 year old girl and that, to get the cure, meant killing the girl to analyse her brain to synthesize the cure? Well, don’t let religion stand in the way of science…

    >> but having PD 13 years makes it more than an academic debate.

    Fallacy. You are saying on the basis of having PD, that somehow the argument on the general level changes. You admit that if you were well, you would advocate for all forms of SCR, but you admit your bias. That deflates the effectiveness of your argument.

    Rick

    April 8, 2009 at 3:34 pm

  7. Conception happens (life begins) when a blastocyst successfully implants in a human uterus either by IVF or the old fashioned way. ESCR utilizes blastocysts produced in petri dishes,you know, like an acorn does not start to become an oak tree until it germinates. All seeds do not become plants, nor do all blastocysts (fertilized eggs) become embryos.
    Millions are washed away in the menstrual cycle.

    I do not oppose adult stem cell research; I oppose banning embryonic stem cell research.. What I meant by the 13 years with PD was it did not change my position, but it has made me more passionate about it advocating for scientists doing research without tying their hands. We won’t know what works for which disease until the research is done.

    Rayilyn Brown

    April 8, 2009 at 3:51 pm

  8. Blastocysts are life – cellular life. so are bacteria and viruses. Teratomas (overian tumors) sometimes contain hair, teeth, bone and body parts AND the human genome – are they people??

    Rayilyn Brown

    April 8, 2009 at 3:57 pm

  9. I don’t agree with the redefining of Conception as implantation because such an argument has only been articulated in the human species and only for the purpose of the abortion argument. No where do I see any evidence of this definition applied to another kingdom, phyla, class, order, etc.

    But when I pick up my old biology book from High School, conception and fertilization are one in the same. In fact, I find it amusing that every definition I can find for the word, blastocyst, indicates a stage 5-7 days after *conception*. Mainstream biological science disagrees with this redefintion.

    Simply, when an embryo is formed, receiving DNA from two parents, it’s a human life. I belief the zygote is a human life. If it fits that defintion, to me, it’s a life. Simple.

    Rick

    April 8, 2009 at 4:26 pm

  10. Rick, it would help if you learned about IVF. With reproduction the old fashioned way it would be impossible to tell when fertilization and implantation take place. IVF takes fertilization outside the human body. Fertilized eggs are frozen until they are implanted. Fertilization and conception are two separate processes we are made aware of by IVF. A zygote doesn’t become human “life” until it gets out of the lab and into a woman. Yvonne Perry’s “Right to Recover” explains IVF very well.

    Rayilyn Brown

    April 8, 2009 at 5:48 pm

  11. Ms. Brown, I know very well what IVF is, thank you! And when those eggs are fertilized, whether it be the old-fashioned sexual way or in a petri dish, they become life.

    To say the the location of a zygote determines whether it is a life is plain stupid and represents biased, unreal thinking. In other words, to say a zygote in a petri dish is not a life, but the second it is implanted in a woman makes it a life is utter nonsense and defies logic.

    The zygote is a life. Period. You don’t have the right to advocate its destruction to improve the quality of life for another person and it’s sheer craziness to justify it by a one-off definition. That doesn’t fly with me and never will.

    But getting back on topic here, the problem with this entire argument is that liberal thought has crafted these convenient excuses, smothered them in advanced language, and ridiculed opposition because we decide to hold to an ethical standard of life, when the answer is staring us right in the face. Liberalism does this to justify immoral behavior (abortion), and, as I’ve said before and has to hold to the destruction of human life in the form of ESCr in order to remain somewhat consistent.

    It sickens me no end.

    Rick

    April 8, 2009 at 8:06 pm

  12. What is the status of the zygote when it is frozen??

    Rayilyn Brown

    April 8, 2009 at 8:30 pm

  13. Life.

    Rick

    April 8, 2009 at 9:31 pm

  14. thanks, Rick, for sharing your ideas with me. I don’t agree with you, of course, but am glad you have seen what you are calling a person and have at
    least heard a little of what I know about adult stem cell successes.

    May you never need treatment for a chronic, incurable disease.

    Rayilyn Brown

    April 8, 2009 at 10:11 pm

  15. I hope I never have to contend with such a disease either. But if that happens and what becomes of it will be within the allowance and control of the Lord God in Heaven. My life and body are His to do with as He will.

    Good health to you Rayilyn. And thank you for reading my blog.

    Rick

    Rick

    April 9, 2009 at 12:30 am


Leave a Reply

