The Rabid Conservative

Think Right, Act Right, Be Right.

A Thing More Important

with one comment


As I sit here, like thousands of people tonight, waiting for the election results to come in, I am recollecting a situation that happened just three hours from this writing.

So I have a student of mine, who shall remain nameless, who needed some help with her mail-in ballot. She pulled it out and she was completely perplexed with the amount of data on the paper, as well as the feeling of overwhelming pressure to get a ballot turned it, because “if she doesn’t vote, she could never complain”. So we pull her ballot out and start going though it.

“Okay, select your choice for President.”, I said. And so she did.

Barack Obama

I cringed quietly, knowing that tonight is going to be a close race and every vote counts. But as we went through each question, with her responses almost opposite to what mine were when I filled out the same thing this morning, I started to feel better about what I was doing, because she felt more and more reassured that she was at least having the opportunity to participate in the political process.

So, afterwards, we drove downtown where she was able to get to the city administration building to drop off her ballot. And as I dropped her off and drove away, I felt pretty good about what I was able to do for another American – and the immense amount of trust she placed on me to help her, even after she learned what my political leanings were.

“I had no idea…”, she said. I just smiled.

Tonight isn’t about Romney or Obama or anyone else. And who ever wins tonight, we need to remember that voting, regardless of where we go, what issues are on the table, or what person is going for what office, tonight is about being American and showing the world how freedom is done.

Written by The Rabid Conservative

November 6, 2012 at 7:30 pm

Posted in Political

Tagged with ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Rick,

    This is one of the better pieces you’ve written in these spaces; well done. I always vote at the polls because it grounds me to what we as americans are all about; community.

    Gary Gagnon

    November 7, 2012 at 7:07 am


Leave a Reply

