The Rabid Conservative

Think Right, Act Right, Be Right.

Finally, Michigan Does Something About the Out-Of-Control Unions

leave a comment »


I was born and raised in Michigan, born to a father who was a dedicated union man.  For years and years, I heard the left-wing ramblings supporting the unions, against businesses that were “taking advantage of workers”.  I watched unemployment, recession, and the like sweep through our little town because companies got tired of fighting with the unions.  Growing up there was like watching Michael Moore’s dumb-umentary, Roger and Me, every day.  The crap got old very fast.  And I learned a long time ago that there are two sides to every argument – so there was something that we’re not hearing from the unions.

ImageI love Michigan.  It’s got to be the most gorgeous state in the union.  I just can’t stand the unions in Michigan today.  I have a friend who lives near Lansing, whose wife was in the teaching profession.  She had to pay two sets of union dues just to keep her job – no choice, no anything, just pay up to stay employed.  Now I don’t mind if someone WANTS to join a union, but that choice should be left to the individual.

So, when Michigan voted on the Right-to-Work initiatives, it boggles my mind to think that it’s actually happening – in Michigan!  And now, we have Democrats threatening violence on Michigan House floor, saying “there will be blood”, which once again, underscores my contention that Democrats only care for the electoral process when it suits them.  But my heart is warmed because, perhaps, the individuals, not the union bosses, will be able to decide for themselves their own destinies.

Today, my dad and I fight about ideology, since I’m about as anti-union as I can get anymore.  For years on end, the unions have sucked the very life out of Michigan and blamed everyone around them for why companies don’t want to do business there.  I don’t live or work there for that very reason.  

Perhaps if the Great Lake State can throw off some of the shackles of the unions and the environment can get favorable for business, I might actually want to return home.

Written by The Rabid Conservative

December 11, 2012 at 11:29 am

Posted in Political

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

