The Rabid Conservative

Think Right, Act Right, Be Right.

The IRS Does Star Trek – Badly

leave a comment »


I love Star Trek and have since I was a kid.  I’ve watched every episode of every series repeatedly.  I’ve seen every movie and regularly pull out quotes from them during social situations.  I play Star Trek Online.  I created my own ship back when TNG came out.  I’m a Trek nerd and I am not ashamed to say so.

I’ve been watching Star Trek: The New Voyages and while I was not at all pleased with the episode Blood and Fire which had a gay love scene, I just fast forward through that and keep going – just because it’s Trek, done reasonably well.

I watch all the fan made stuff too – even the stupidest stuff, done low budget, with some of the worst acting imaginable.

So when I heard on Friday that the IRS had this 2010 training video set in the Final Frontier, I figured I would have a look.

It’s utter crap….and it cost $60,000!

I’ve seen low budget fan films that went for less money but were better made.  And as it was designed to be one of those corny training videos, but turned out to be a waste of taxpayer dollars, I will not be sparing or merciful in my criticism of it.   I already hate the IRS to begin with, so now, out comes my Cudgel of Unfair Browbeating.

  1. Better Fitting Uniforms  – Every one of these people look like cosplay rookies at a convention.  All are in TNG uniforms except the old crone at communications who was wearing a TOS frock – which was the wrong color for that uniform.  TOS operations officers wore red.Perhaps that was a good move, since female TNG uniforms were one piece form fitting and – well, no one wants to see that.
  2. The Comm Officer – This lady used the name “Uhura”.  Frankly, I found it pretty wrong, since Uhura is a Swahili word, specifically chosen for the character, because she was of African descent.  Anyone who knows anything about Trek understands that Uhura’s character was specifically chosen to be a black woman – because she represented, in one character, Roddenberry’s equality vision for Star Trek.But I guess we should, instead, we should call her Ujinga – which is Swahili for “ridiculous/foolish”.
  3. Overweight Spock – This guy looks like he mind-melded with a cheeseburger, which I wonder if he tried to claim as a deduction.  Maybe with the budget, someone could have sprung for a couple bucks of liquid latex to at least blend the ears in.  Or maybe they could do something better with the hair, since that looks like someone made a beanie out of a plastic trash bag and put it on his head.
  4. Backwards Bridge – The forward consoles for Ops and Conn are in this half circle pointing away.  But of course, we’re dealing with the IRS, so a badly designed, inefficient bridge works – since the tax code is pretty much the same.
  5. The Captain’s Chair – The thing looks like someone took an office chair and taped boxes to the side arms and a TV remote on top.  I’ve seen some pretty cheesy mockups, but that is pretty much as bad as it comes.
  6. The IRS Building as the Ship – Really, people?  At least when Mel Brooks did Jews in Space, the Star-of-David ships were funny and made sense.  This just looks stupid.  They called it the Enterprise-Y.  I just say, why?

So there it is – another IRS mistake, dripping in lamesauce, and deserving of as much public mockery as can be wrought by the blogosphere.  But we should be relieved that we now have Federation policy that goes after dangerous enemies – not the Romulans, the Borg, or the Klingons, but rather the dangerous tax evaders who threaten freedom.

Okay, I’m done. *crashing sound*

Read it: Highly illogical: IRS training video that parodies ‘Star Trek’ apparently lacks training value – The Washington Post.

The schlock of a video – if you want to sacrifice six minutes of your life.

 

Written by The Rabid Conservative

March 24, 2013 at 12:41 pm

Posted in Political

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

