The Rabid Conservative

Think Right, Act Right, Be Right.

Manatee Gray and Personal Responsibility

leave a comment »


Now this is funny, and yes, I’m not sparing about it all.  Target recently had a gray plus-sized dress in the color Manatee Gray and had to apologize because someone griped.

I laughed – hard.

Now, I’m not exactly sporting a fit and trim body these days.  I used to have a six-pack from all the sit-ups I did in the Army.  Today, I have a keg.  I jiggle when I walk.  I wear clothes that hide it.  But I don’t blame it on anyone but myself – if I want to have a shape other than “pear” or “round”, I need to get my fat butt in the gym (or at least to my garage and hit the rowing machine more than once a year).  But I don’t, so I only have myself to blame.  No one put a gun to my head and made me eat too much fattening food or consume mass quantities at the wrong time of day.  No, my health is my responsibility and no one else’s.

So I suspect I’ll get deluged with a bunch of thin skinned over-sized women who will…ahem…grimace (that’s right, I said it), about the level of insensitivity with this post. I don’t care.  They will throw all the excuses in the world about how ‘it’s glandular’, or they can’t exercise because they have knee problems (due to the damage from being overweight).  Again, I don’t care.  If you’re a BBW and don’t like it  then change it.  Own your “C”, in other words.

The way I see it, there are a lot of people who are upset about the way that they look and, while, not actually taking the responsibility of reducing the calorie count, eating healthier foods to curb the weight gain, exercise, or change when they consume the carbs and calories.  There may be some medical issues, but the way I see it, anyone can slim down, IF they want it bad enough.  And for some, it’s harder.  But in the end, we all have to take personal responsibility for health, and that means dealing with the repercussions (which sometimes may include ridicule).

We can always change Manatee Gray to Battleship Gray…would that be better?

Read It: Target apologizes for label on plus-size dress – New York News | NYC Breaking News.

Written by The Rabid Conservative

April 6, 2013 at 12:42 pm

Posted in Political

Leave a Reply

