The Rabid Conservative

Think Right, Act Right, Be Right.

My Cheaper Insurance

with 2 comments


This past weekend, I received an upsetting letter from Humana One regarding my family’s medical insurance. I had been expecting higher premiums, but nothing had prepared me for the full effect of ACA aka Obamacare.

My family of 5 is in relatively good health. Maybe once a year one of my three children needs an antibiotic for strep or an ear infection, common things. I go to my annual exam if I particularly feel like it. My husband has a few more issues, but we pay for it out of pocket anyway because I had a high deductible plan. Basically, we are a profit for any insurance company. My husband’s employer’s insurance is a joke as it would consume nearly one of his two week paychecks for the premiums. I found our $11,900 high deductible policy on line. It worked for us. It covered the routine exams at 100 % and would keep us from losing our house if something major happened. There were no copays. Once we met our deductible, everything else was covered at 100% for the rest of the year for the whole family. The deductible might seem high to some, but paying 20% coinsurance per incident on some of those other plans out there could easily cost more and with a higher monthly premium, too.

Now back to the letter. My high deductible plan cost $431 a month, but to comply with ACA my new premium is $1003. That’s 232%. Was the ACA plan better? Oh, it covered more. It included things like abortion and maternity. I happen to be a committed wife. I’m 41 years old. My husband had a vasectomy. I will never be in the position to use these forced improvements to my policy. Also, my deductible was raised to $12,600. Then, the abortion provision began to urk me. Forcing me to pay for something that is an absolute affront to my faith is disgusting.

What is the going rate of liberty today? According to the subsidy calculator on Colorado’s health exchange site, it’s about $890 a month. Oh, I argued with the Humana One representative about whether the subsidy was a government hand out or not. If someone else’s tax money is paying for my insurance, it’s a hand out. I don’t want it. That might perplex some folks, but I don’t want it.

Last year, I studied several Supreme Court cases with my children. One sticks to mind with regards to ACA – Wyman v James. The gist of this case? If one accepts government aid, the government can enter one’s home. No thank you. I don’t want it.

My solution is fairly basic. I’m depositing the money that I would have paid to premiums into a bank account. I’ll pay for any medical expenses from it. I refuse to enroll in ACA. I called Rep. Lamborn, Sen. Udall, and Sen. Bennett to inform them of my situation. I don’t expect much from any of them. I’m telling everyone I know. The rest I trust in God. He has never let me down. Maybe this last point is what the supporters of ACA don’t understand. The government is not my God. God shall supply all my needs.

 

—-

Note from the Editor: Hello folks, this post was authored by my wife and newest author and contributor to The Rabid Conservative. When you have a moment, feel free to comment and welcome her to the blog.  I think I can say we’re all looking forward to hearing her perspective on things (that way, it’s not just me all the time, right?)  Good first writeup, Nic)

Written by mrsrabidconservative

September 6, 2013 at 5:08 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] My Cheaper Insurance […]

  2. Ha ha ha, some bozo linked a tax calculator to my article. Thanks. Now anyone who reads the article is able to calculate for how much their liberty can be bought.

    mrsrabidconservative

    September 13, 2013 at 10:03 pm


Leave a Reply

